Made My Day

One of THE coolest things to happen to me since falling pregnant happened a week or so ago. I was on my way to pick up a colleague to give him a lift to work in the morning and was stopped at a traffic light in typical Jo’burg traffic, when a rumbling Harley Davidson pulled up next to me. I glanced to the left (he was at my passenger window) and saw the grizzliest, mangiest, hairy-biker type hunched over his monster machine … engine growling as those bikes do. He had on mean leather chaps, steel-capped boots, leather wrist accessories, with wiry grey hair sticking out between his helmet and scarf …

 

As quickly as I glanced at him, I looked away … not the kind of guy you want to be caught gawking at! Eyes forward, I waited as the robot went back to amber and red and pulled up the handbrake to wait my turn, when I heard a hoot. Not an angry “HOOT!” but more of a “meep” if you will. I looked over to my left where the “meep” came from, to see the sweetest smile, attached to the scariest body. Hairy-Biker gave me the mushiest grin, pointed at my now very evident pregnant belly and gave me a big thumbs up, before roaring away into the traffic …

 

I smiled and laughed to myself … and FINALLY got through the intersection.   

5 thoughts on “Made My Day

  1. “The more intensely we feel about an idea or a goal, the more assuredly the idea, buried deep in our subconscious, will direct us along the path to its fulfillment.”
    I am so proud of you beautiful soul. Keep writing.
    MJW x

  2. Tee hee thats so cool – the crazy ones are always the best ones – that’s why I myself try to always stick to being a little bit crazy!

    GO BIKER MAN

    AND GO POOPILLSFACE – you are so amazing!

    x x x x

    Love you and Luca loads and wish I could be there everyday!

    x x x x

    • Amongst the 1000 odd bikers that I went riding with today to raise money for the emergency helicopter, I bet 80% of them would have tipped their hats (helmets) to you, given you a thumbs up and meeped like crazy (meep meep, from my biker here at home with his wiry grey hair).
      Love you so much
      Brigie

  3. Dear Nix

    Your are such an amazing person – with so many talents. What a wonderful read, I look forward to reading more of your journey.
    Love Sal

Leave a Reply

