Cold tea, soggy toast … I’m a mum!

So, this post started off entitled “One Week Later” and, in the spirit of being a mum, I am only now getting to posting it. NOTHING gets done or finished when you plan it to or immediately after you started it. I’ve become used to eating soggy cold toast, drinking luke warm tea and reading the same page of a book or magazine at least 4 or 5 times. But it’s all SO incredibly worth it. 

So as I said, the post entitled “One Week Later” is no more but instead here is a quick, bullet point recap of the day we became parents: 

  • I drive to the hospital in my new car.
  • I take the scenic route which drives Dave mad but makes me happy as I won’t get to drive her for a couple of weeks.
  • We arrive at the hospital very early and sit around nervously.
  • I change into my sexy green theatre gown and pee in a jar while Dave answers calls asking if we’ve had the baby yet.
  • I have the drip done … in my ARM! OW!!! (This, ladies and gentlemen is the most pain I feel until after the c-section!)
  • I get wheeled into the pre-op room and Dave is given his scrubs to change into, booties and all!
  • We start talking about how this is possibly the most incredible moment of our lives.
  • I start crying and am handed a wad of lovely one-ply to blow my nose with … ouch!
  • I am wheeled into theatre and Dave is asked to wait outside until they have finished prepping me.
  • The anaethetist commences with the spinal block after giving me a pillow to hug … this isn’t how the lady at the antenatal class had explained it! Dave and I had been told that he would stand in front of me while a LONG needle would be jabbed into my back! I panic a little but it doesn’t hurt a bit. Relief. 
  • They lay me down on the theatre “table” as my legs start to go numb … feels like I am being slowly dipped into a HOT bath
  • Can’t quite decide to be freaked out by the numbing or to just go with the flow and enjoy the feeling … I decide to go with it and it actually feels quite nice 🙂 
  • They do the “prepping” (not going to go into detail here …) and I start to think … has Dave fainted? Have they sent him into the wrong theatre? Has he run screaming into the distance? I ask where he is and the surgeon’s assistant yells for him to be brought in and he arrives at my side. More relief. 
  • Dave looks up and they had started to cut already. He has seen something that he probably shouldn’t and looks rather pale and is shaking. I tell him to look only at me and he does. I start to cry. 
  • I feel the surgeon pulling and tugging at my insides as they blabber on in Afrikaans and I wonder what it is that they’re talking about and how they can ramble on when they’re cutting a baby out of my belly. Does it not require stupendous levels of concentration? 
  • I feel a big movement in my belly and I say to Dave, “He’s coming, he’s coming” … and the surgeon says, “He’s coming!”
  • Dave looks up and I feel a huge release of pressure … he’s here. It’s quiet … shouldn’t there be screaming and crying? 
  • I hear the sound of suction … a little cough and the surgeon says “He’s here, where’s your camera?” and Dave bravely stands up, at the risk of seeing my insides on the outside again, and takes the most amazing photographs. 
  • Tears roll down my face … I haven’t seen him yet. 
  • I see them bundle him over to the table to my right and the pediatrician calls Dave over. 
  • Dave shouts to me, “He has hair!” and I see him grinning and hear him laughing. He has hair!
  • A couple of minutes go by as they check he is all in tact and Dave disobeys all the theatre rules and wanders into the “sterile” zone. He is reprimanded by the surgeon, looks and me and laughs and heads back to where our son is being swaddled.
  • Someone grabs my left arm from under the sheet … 
  • My baby boy is placed on my chest and he looks at me with all the wonder in the world. 
  • I am a mother. I cry the hardest tears I’ve cried in a long, long time. But instead of the usual tears of pain and heartbreak, these are truly tears of joy. Just like that, I am a mother and my little boy and my husband are looking at me and we are a family! It is the most incredible moment of our lives. 

DSCN1834

10 thoughts on “Cold tea, soggy toast … I’m a mum!

  1. Awww it sounded like the most stressful but happiest day ever for you guys!!!

    YOU GUYS RULE!!!
    x x x x

  2. Pingback: I’m alive, promise! « Life with Luca

  3. Wow – so descriptive, and to think that I will go through the same thing in just 5 months time! So much to look forward to 🙂 Marlien

  4. Pingback: World famous … at Werksmans :) | Life with Luca

  5. Pingback: The words that got away … « Life with Luca

  6. Pingback: Friday Flashback | Life with Luca

  7. Pingback: A boy named Mika | One of The Boys

Leave a Reply

