Workin’ Girl

At first, after a blissful extended maternity leave of 7 months, I thought that returning to work would be nothing short of torture. How could I possibly be away from my precious boy for longer than the duration of a spinning class??? I must state that this was not my first return to work: I went back to a full-time position in a HECTICALLY stressful and busy environment when Luca was just 4 months old and it was terrible. I cried all the way to work, cried when anyone had the inclination to ask me anything Luca-related and then cried all the way back home. Then when I saw him and his “Gogo”, Beauty, I cried my heart out even more.

But that was then.

This is now.

I managed (oh thank you, lucky stars) to find an awesome job. Literally 5 minutes from home (one long straight road and ONE left turn!), with fantastic and flexible hours. I also work in the most incredible home I have ever had the pleasure of setting my eyes upon. And for wonderful people. You know when you get that feeling that you’ve slid down the slide of luck and landed with your bum right in the butter? Well, I have that feeling! I love driving to work, enjoy the people with whom I deal during the day and, because of this, I arrive home in the afternoon in a great mood and feel ready to devote all of my afternoon to my beautiful baby boy. And my husband, of course 😉

This is all due to decisions I made in the past few months … decisions that were both tough and risky. But I did it, and now I am happy. And if the past few months have taught me anything, it’s to persevere until I get what I want. Sometimes it can be trying, but it gets you there in the end.

The office:

The view from the desk:

The colleagues:

Leave a Reply

