The Latest

So, I was sitting here catching up on some of the blogs I’ve been reading for a while (Exmi, The Reluctant Mom, Baby Schepers) and a few that I’ve just recently subscribed to (Lucky Pony, The Jackson Files, My Jellybean Journey) when all of a sudden I was struck by the dreaded Blogger’s Guilt. I’ve been greedily devouring blog post after blog post on everyone else’s sight without the slightest concern for karma. What goes around, comes around. You’ve got to give what you get. Yes? So, here’s the latest:

Loving life at the moment … work is so cool in terms of me having loads of time for myself, Luca and Dave. Obviously the lesser hours and responsibility means a pathetic smaller salary, but the benefits far outweigh the pay, so I am happy. Luca is doing so well at everything … he’s saying “OUT!” (over-annunciates the “T” … so, “outtttttttttttt!”) which he obviously hears Beauty, Dave and I saying LOTS to the dogs all the time. “Puppies, OUT! Beanie, OUT!” I guess it was only a matter of time before he started to copy us πŸ™‚ Now we just need to be aware of what we do say in front of him over and over. What with Dave’s sometimes stressful job (poker player AND attorney) and my natural ability to sometimes have the vocab of a sailor, we have what could be termed “colourful” language at times. Who doesn’t? Oy.

Back to Luca. He’s at Aqua Tots every Saturday (am hoping to start on Thursdays as well, as the more babies do things, the more confident and able they become) and he is so natural in the water. The instructor also says I have great “handling” skills … yay me! At one stage she (the instructor, not the cat’s mother) took Luca from me to demonstrate the back float to the other parents. He floated along quite happily on his back and then … SHE LET HIM GO! And he continued to float there … drifting along in front of her … I was so proud and SO petrified all at the same time!

Random silly moment …

Lol's Photoshopping skills ... do you remember the "Cat with Lime Helmet"? πŸ˜€

Cat with Lime Helmet … remember this?

At 9.5 months, I am told that Luca is quite advanced, especially for a boy. When the Aqua Tots lady asked “if” he was crawling yet, my response was: “OH YES!” Haha! Is he crawling … what a question! He chases the cat around the house at lightning speed! Plus his saying “OUTTTTTTTTT!”, whenever he sees the dogs also has me thinking that he is a genius πŸ˜€

He LOVES the Teletubbies … I don’t know if I should be ashamed or not. Nah, I think it’s awesome πŸ™‚ He laughs his little bum off at the Sun Baby and in the episode that was on tonight, Tinky Winky, Dipsy, Laalaa and Po did “Peek-a-Boo” and he was beside himself with laughter! It is just sooooo cute πŸ˜€ He also now LOVES showering! It started two weeks ago when we were house-sitting for my boss. They have those fancy showers with no shower doors. Dave was in the shower and I was getting dressed, so took my eyes off Luca for a millisecond and IN that millisecond he was in the shower. Clothes and all πŸ™‚ So now if he’s alone with me in the mornings when I shower, I just let him in. He LOVES it! Sits on the floor and slaps away at the water with his hands and feet, occasionally looking up at me, blinking away the water spray. Then I pick him up and let him have the strong water on his back … he goes into a little shower trance … SO CUTE!!!

On the downside, he has started to (in Lindy’s words) “test the boundaries” with us. Not quite tantrum, but definitely not the normal crying. When we take him out the bath and pop him onto the changing mat to put on his nappy and pyjamas, the wailing starts. At first I thought there was something wrong – a scratchy bit on the changing mat, his teething necklace choking him, painful nappy rash – the usual suspects. But nothing … except when you pick him up – the crying STOPS. Cheeky bugger!

Luca & Bella (with names like that, they're a match made in heaven!) at Tasha's

On Friday I had coffee with friends at the Tasha’s on the corner of Kloof Street & Van Buuren Road in Edenvale (I think?) – awesome place! Not like the Tasha’s in Morningside where, on Saturday, Luca and I met my old friend Eva and the waitress spilled the next table’s blaady vanilla milkshake ALL OVER MY HANDBAG and didn’t even apologize. In fact, she grabbed her cloth and wiped down THE COUCH before waddling off to get serviettes for me to wipe done my sticky, vanilla flavored handbag! Seriously! AND the manager sauntered over, not to apologize, but to COVER THE WIPED UP MESS WITH A CUSHION! SO not ayoba guys!!! Anyhoo …

Went to watch “Nine” with my GBF Murray, which was great. I officially WANT Kate Hudson’s body (and to be able to dance like her would be nice too) now. Inspiration for the diet and gym! YES! On that note – feeling so good about myself. The diet has been good to me. I have lost 5kg and still want to lose another 2. My pre-preggy clothes look and feel GREAT, which in itself is inspiration to shed the last two. It was pretty tough going at the start and I do have days where I feel like if I saw a person with a slab of Lindt Dark Orange or Mint chocolate I might physically attack them for a bite the whole thing. But as I said, there is no better inspiration for me, than seeing the results of hard work. So I’m just gonna keep on keeping on πŸ™‚

On Sunday we spent the day with Lindy & Caleb, Luca’s BFF. They are SO cute together … little boys! When we got to Lindy’s house, I popped Luca down on the carpet and he and Caleb literally went mad! Screeching, crawling to each other, falling over in fits of giggles! I could just eat them up! Here they are destroying Lindy’s mom’s garden and stalking the photographer …

I’ve started thinking of ideas for my little Monkey’s first birthday party. SO EXCITED!!! My extremely talented Sisterpoops will be doing all of the artwork for invitations and decor, Party Buddies will assist with venue, tables, chairs etc and Cupcake Royale will be doing the cake/cupcakes/biscuits … okay, now I’m salivating! But yes … all so exciting! As of right now, the theme is TOP SECRET but I am not sure how long I will be able to keep it that way. I am USELESS with secrets and surprises! One year Dave and I exchanged Christmas presents in early November. Yes, we’re THAT bad πŸ˜€

Speaking of my wonderful hoosbund, he played at the All Africa Poker Tournament in Swaziland this weekend. Shame, he played solidly ALL weekend and ended up “tilting” after being bluffed and went out in 11th position. Still, he got paid well for his efforts so not a weekend completely lost. He says that it’s harder than ever now to leave us (Luca) for these long weekends away, so I promised that we’d go with to the next AAPT to be his lucky charms πŸ™‚ I also DO NOT SLEEP when he’s away, (was up until 1 on Thursday, 2 on Friday and quarter to bloody 3 on Saturday) so sleeping in a hotel room in Swaziland sounds like a far better idea than a busy weekend with NO sleep.

One of those "just woken up" pics ... my favourite πŸ™‚

And … that’s the latest! Sleep tight folks!

7 thoughts on “The Latest

  1. i LOVE LOVE LOVE ur blog Nix! u have given me inspiration to get blogging again Xxx lol forward to reading some more. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

