Lesson Learnt

I am DYING today. This weekend was SO busy and we had a complete disaster last night!
Luca was in the bath and somehow got hold of my razor. Nipped the tip his one pointy finger and the thumb on the other hand. That’s what happens when you take your eye off them for ONE SECOND! Seeing his blood TOTALLY FREAKED ME OUT but I somehow stayed calm and no one got worked up.
He was fine – I put cotton wool and plasters on his little fingers and put socks over his hands so that he wouldn’t pull off the bandages in his sleep. He went down at 6:30 and was instantly out for the count.
At MIDNIGHT someone rang our freaking LOUD door bell and that was where it all went pear-shaped.
Luca woke up half an hour after the bell rang, then at 1am, 2am, 3am, 5am and then finally at 7. He would fall asleep in my arms when I went into his room but would wake up 20-30 minutes later, after I’d put him in bed and leaned over the cot rail to pat his bum for 10 back-aching minutes. Eventually at around 5:45 I climbed onto the LazyBoy with him and he slept in my arms until 7, while I spent over an hour trying not to let my head slip off the leather couch.
I feel like I got hit by a bus. My arms are aching. I have bruises all over my legs. My back hurts. I want to cry.
Just to top it all off, it’s MONDAY and I am dealing with PETTY, ANNOYING SHIT for my boss, who is in the South of FUCKING France. St Tropez, to be exact. And I am here, aching sinuses full of snot (sorry but it’s true), with toothpicks holding my eyelids up and practically mainlining VERY strong, syrupy coffee .
I want to RUN AWAY.
Note to self: NEVER say out loud that your child is a great sleeper. It will come back to bite you on the ass.
11 thoughts on “Lesson Learnt

  1. Ohhh no Niks…did you read my blog about my disaster with Luke last week! Also took my eyes off him for 1 second…. so I feel your pain! Thank goodness he and Luca are okay xxxxxx

    We should have called eachother last night Luke woke up every half and hour from 11:00…… By 4:00 I actually felt manic and had to get Chris to take him! I was having very bad thoughts!
    I am also so over tired and feel like crying, so from one mommy to another I am with you in spirit Niks. I have no clue how I am actually going to get through it all today :-(!
    Much Love Hun!

  2. Oh shame Nix! It’s exhausting work sometimes (being a mother), but we all survive somehow (and so do our kids!) I have a question though – who the hell rang your doorbell at that hour!??!

    • How bad is this Jo – Dave left the pedestrian gate OPEN!!! It was a security guard to let us know that it was open!!! Needless to say, even when I did get Luca down for 20-30 mins, I hardly slept – was convinced that there was someone in our garden!

  3. Ah friend, what a nightmare…I hope that last night was better and that you are having a good day!
    x x x x

  4. Hey Lady…
    Take a deep breath and say “I’m human!” Freak accidents happen, sleepless nights are inevitable….You really just need a couple hours to get yourself together, preferably sleep! Being sleep deprived hightens our emotions and even the smallest upset can turn on our water works! Just keep reminding yourself that “this too shall pass” as I saw you mention not so long ago… πŸ™‚

    From reading your blogs, to your daily Facebook status updates, you sure are one well rounded-together-awesome mommy! Try and get some rest Lady Dadic, you’ll be doing yourself and little Luca, the world of good!

  5. Pingback: 2010 in review « Life with Luca

Leave a Reply

