Great Expectations

I am nervous as all hell … in a couple of hours I will be on LIVE TELEVISION and I haven’t even completely decided on what I am going to wear. The studio brief calls for no white clothing, no small patterns, no noisy jewellery or dresses without belts. On a quick glance at my wardrobe you’d be of the opinion that if I had to follow those rules to a tee, I’d have nothing to wear. And you wouldn’t be wrong! I have pulled out every item of clothing I own and have at least 15 combinations from which to choose tomorrow morning. This morning, actually … it’s past 12 already! I’m anxiously scribbling out notes, not unlike the way I prepare for exams. At the eleventh hour. Thank god the studio is 5 minutes from home and I only need to be there at 9:30! I say that with all the confidence in the world, completely forgetting that I have a 17 month old son who favours being carried to actually walking anywhere himself, before 9am. So yes, tomorrow morning will be fun. As is every other day with a toddler πŸ™‚

Thanks to everyone for all the words of kindness and the votes of confidence! I think you are all crazy and that I am going to look like a deer caught in the headlights tomorrow. Ag well, at least you’ll all have something recorded on the PVR to give you a good laugh when you watch me stuttering away nervously on Great Expectations, Tuesday at 11:30Β πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Great Expectations

  1. Hey Nicki,
    You were great! No nerves when it came to the moment and you spoke honestly and very well.

    I love your blog and especially the photographs. Did you take them yourself? They’re fantastic!

    Take care and it was lovely to meet you on the Great Expectations set.
    Marinda πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much Marinda! Was great to meet you too and I am planning on making some fruit kebabs with Luca soon! Yes, I take all of my own photos – obviously not the ones with me in them! It’s yet another passion of mine πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Nicki
    I just watched the Great Expectations episode and you spoke really well… I found it very interesting and immediately went to check out your blog. Well done!

Leave a Reply

