10 Years

Dear Mum

On this day, for the past nine years, I have cried. I have sobbed and heaved my way through emotional episodes, in which I internally recount my precious memories of you. This year, I don’t want to cry. I’m sure I will cry, but I want to cry because I imagine how proud you are of me and of Lol and not because of how my heart still aches when I think of you, wishing that you had not been suddenly and painfully removed from our lives.

Mum, Luca is amazing. You would adore his clever sense of humour, his incredible level of intelligence at only 22 months of age. You would love his gorgeous button nose and you’d “beep” it at every opportunity. You would love how he snuggles on your lap (when he wants to) and runs riot in the garden, climbing up and sliding down his little yellow slide, stark naked.

Something I haven’t told you yet, Mum, is that there is another little baby on the way! Yip! I’m about 7 weeks pregnant now, and so incredibly happy that David and I are lucky enough to be experiencing this incredible journey again! I always wanted to have two children, as you and Dad did with Lol and I, and to have them quite close together. You had Lol 17 months after I was born, and my second baby will arrive when Luca is 29 months old – a bit of a bigger gap, but the truth is that I was only really ready for this now. I sometimes despise the saying, “Things always happen for a reason”, because I’ve never understood the “reason” for you having to leave this Earth, but in the case of my second pregnancy, the saying does ring true.

Speaking of David, Mum, you’d love him. He’s (very) good-looking, very charismatic and, along with being my best friend, he’s an amazing father and husband. We will be together 9 years this August – I literally struggle to understand where the last decade has gone. The only thing I wish, is that you’d met him … you really would have loved him.

Mum, on the 10 year anniversary of your passing away, I’ll be doing a shoot with a parenting magazine called Living & Loving! How cool is that! I became friendly with its editor on Twitter [I’ll just call this a chat room – as trying to describe Twitter to someone who left the world in 2001 could take a while ;)] through mutual “mommy friends” and she obviously got to reading my blog. She asked me to be a part of a feature on mommy bloggers, and of course I accepted! I still adore being in front of the camera – as Lol and I always have! I’ll be sure to think of you while we are having our make up and hair done. It’s something you would have loved to have seen me do, so I dedicate the day to you!

I have amazing friends and family still here with me, Mum, which is a huge support on days like this, when I miss you the most. I have great friends at work too, at my [not so] new job who have supported me in my desire to grow, to develop my knowledge of things that I never would have had the opportunity to do, a few years ago. You’d really love them as much as I do – they’re my “family” 8 hours of the day, 5 days a week, and they’re great 

Lol’s coming to visit us soon, Mum. She arrives on the 14th of April and is spending 3 glorious weeks with us, getting to know her gorgeous nephew and just chilling with me, her big sister. What’s really awesome is that she’ll be with me for my next scan – so she’ll get to see this new baby, first hand. Hopefully Lol and her boyfriend, Sam, will also be coming to spend Christmas with us this year. We want to have a typical family holiday at the coast, with the two babies and lots of love and fun. It would be great to have you with us, but such is life. We’ll think of you always.

I’ve managed to write this with a lump in my throat and a smile on my face. No tears (yet), which is a massive improvement … 10 years may be a long time in reality, but it my heart it feels like just yesterday we were all still young, innocent and untouched by the harsh realities of life. In my mind’s eye, I see you and Guy together, watching us all and being so, so very proud.

I love you Mum, always.

Nicola Storm

25 thoughts on “10 Years

  1. Nix, maybe you managed not to cry writing this, but you had me in tears reading it. Well written and beautifully said! You are an inspiration to a lot of people. Keep it up xx

  2. Wow Nix – what a lovely post – it made me cry. I hope you have a good day at the shoot – am thinking of you. Love Sal x

  3. We love you so very much. What a wonderful post. God bless you on this what is a somber day for us all.

  4. Oi … you’re supposed to start your blog of with a “tear jerker” warning. What a lovely blog Nicki. Wishing you much strength on this day. Keep smiling and know your mom is with you in spirit… always!

  5. Such beautiful words. I lost my mom suddenly 3 years ago so I have some idea of how you feel – the empty hole that cannot be filled. She is smiling down on you. 🙂 Congrats on your pregnancy!

  6. Really beautiful Nix. Debbie was always so proud of you and Lol, and no doubt she will be now too.
    f ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together.. there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart.. I’ll always be with you.

  7. Beautifully written my friend…you are amazing. I wish I could have met your mum…she must have been just as amazing. I am here for you always. Love you! xxxx

  8. I am sobbing!(full on crying and the tears just dont want to stop!) Beautiful Nix.. BEAUTIFUL!! You are very special.. Her heart would BURST with pride.. and love xxx

  9. I read this and instantly thought of my mom. I know that life is inevitable but I am DREADING the day. I can’t think about it without getting exceptionally emotional.

    What you wrote here is absolutely beautiful. Congrats on your new pregnancy and thank you for visiting and commenting on my blog – it introduced me to yours
    xxx

  10. Pingback: What’s been going on? « Life with Luca

  11. Hey hun! What an amazing post. You lost your mom about 6 months after I lost my stepdad! He was my dad actually, more of a father than anyone has ever been to me. He was there for 16 years and I still miss him everyday. This post really touched me, because I always wonder if he is proud of me, my mom and sis.

  12. Pingback: The words that got away … « Life with Luca

Leave a Reply

