Hello! Is it me you’re looking for?

Hi there! *waves* Hopefully, you’re a new reader, drawn to my little blog after reading about it in the May issue of Living & Loving magazine! If you are one of these new readers (lots of wishful thinking on my part), then a warm welcome to you! As Lisa and Stacey so kindly pointed out, I’ve been a VERY BAD BLOGGER, having posted last almost a month ago! Shocking!

So again, welcome new readers and welcome back loyal ones! Sorry to have kept you waiting SO long!

The truth of the matter is this – I’ve been VERY busy lately. I’ve been at 3 hour evening lectures twice a week for Marketing Comms and the dreaded Stats. I write exams in May and have 4 hour booster lectures on the weekends leading up to those exams. The one is on Mothers Day 😦 So May is going to be a nightmare month for me … which totally sucks. The light at the end of the tunnel is that we’ll celebrate Luca’s 2nd birthday at the very end of the month, because I’ll be writing (the dreaded) stats on his actual birthday … which SUCKS! I will, however, be able to pop into his school on the 24th to take cupcakes for his birthday ring – where he gets to celebrate his birthday with his gorgeous little classmates. So, May is going to be a long, hard road for me … with my baby’s big day to round it off.

My amazing sister (aka Lauren, Poops, Lol, Lolly) is here from Manchester, and it appears that she’s brought the cr@ppy weather with her. Right now it’s 3 degrees warmer in Manchester than it is in Jo’burg. Seriously. We’ve made the most of the time that we’ve had together so far, with a day of breakfast, a very successful shopping expedition, a lunch break at the wonderful Wolves, a fabulously frivolous kitchen tea for one of my oldest friends, a trip to the Jo’burg Zoo and a “let’s all be kids” themed photo shoot with the talented Celeste of Cilla Bloom Photography. That was all just in the past 3 days! I want to take her up to the Westcliff for a quick (virgin) cocktail, to take in the gorgeous view of Jozi – if the weather plays along. We also NEED to pop into Tanya and my “happy place”, Serendipity, to show Lol Luca’s favourite spot to chill on a sunny Saturday afternoon. We’re also headed to St Francis on the 28th of April, to a wedding at which I am part of the retinue. It’s a “vintage nautical” themed shindig, so I’m sure there are going to be LOADS of gorgeous pics forthcoming! Between my sister and I, a moment rarely goes unphotographed 🙂

What I’m loving most about my sister being here, is watching how much Luca loves being around her. He took to her instantly, which is not usually the case with “new” people. He’s only seen her twice before: when she visited 3 weeks after he was born, and when we travelled to the UK to visit in December/January 2009, when he was just 7 months old. I think it’s the fact Lol and I have both always had that inner child – you know? We’re able to play make-believe games and sing along to songs, read books in funny made-up accents and run around the house like lunatics. Just like little kids. And obviously Luca LOVES that. At our photo shoot on Sunday, Lol and I hung upside down from the monkey-bars, all in the name of being kids again. It was awesome and I really hope *that* picture comes out well 🙂

Work has been … work. It’s been manic, demanding, frustrating and fulfilling – like four seasons in each and every day. I’m loving it, but at the same time, craving the upcoming long weekend and subsequent public holidays scattered throughout the week. We were meant to drive up to Dave’s Uncle & Aunt’s farm in Hoedspruit for the Easter weekend, but I decided that we needed to take some time to just chill, what with all the rushing going on during Lol’s visit. I’m glad – we’ll get to do more of our usual stuff (PLEASE, let the sun shine, just for a day or two this weekend?) and just spend precious time together.

Then there’s the little fact that I’M PREGNANT! Yes, I am approximately 12 weeks and 1 day pregnant today. Unless “preggy-brain” completely wiped out my memory of being pregnant the first time, I really don’t remember feeling this flat, exhausted and underwhelmed. I guess its different the second time around – especially considering how busy I’ve been over the past couple of weeks. I was definitely NOT nauseous at all the first time around. Thankfully, I have yet to actually throw up – but the constant aura of green hangs constantly over my head this time. I have not yet found a food / drink / scent that makes me feel like I want to eat / drink / smell it. I *think* that I’m “craving” something, only to ingest it and realize that it is, quite easily, the most revolting mouthful of food/drink I’ve ever encountered. Some things taste okay, but nothing’s “wowed” me, like peaches or fruity frozen yoghurt did, when I was pregnant with Luca. I do know, however, that I am truly blessed to be experiencing the journey of pregnancy and I am forever grateful for my body’s ability (erm, and Dave’s “swimmers”) to be able to be a mother, TWICE. Hopefully … no, I WILL be able to be more aware of my body and this pregnancy, once the AWFUL, DREADED, HIDEOUS and FRIGHTENING exams are over, come end-May. Yes.

And that’s where I’ll leave you for tonight. I now have a spot of work to do, before I hit the sack … and it’s already 29 57 minutes past my 9pm bed time!

6 thoughts on “Hello! Is it me you’re looking for?

  1. I am loving every busy minute… I am going to be heart broken when I have to go back home…

    I am wishing the weather to change, even though I don’t need sun to have a good time 🙂

    ps. Luca might be having a number 2 as we speak tee hee xxxxx

  2. You are such a super mom Nix – WOW! Have lots of fun with your sister – family is so important. Am sure the sun will shine this weekend – hope you get some time to put your feet up! LOL

Leave a Reply

