What’s in a name?

In less than 2 weeks, we find out if we’ll be discovering a whole other kettle of fish with a new baby girl, or giving Luca a little baby brother.

This has, of course, evoked the same panicked feeling we felt the first time round when we found out we were having Luca. I can’t remember exactly when Dave and I finally decided on “Luca Jack Dadic” as his name, but I do know that it took us a LONG time to get there!

There are so many factors contributing to how you name your child. Family, being the first of many! There was a name we considered for Luca, and when I Skyped my Gran one Saturday afternoon, I mentioned it to her. She considered it for a moment, cocked her head to the side ever so slightly (like a confused kitten) and said, “Well, that’s going to take some getting used to!”

And that was the end of that. I won’t say WHAT the name was/is (I won’t mention any of our potential names yet!) but I will say that a local “celebrity” couple recently gave the name to their little boy. I still love it and we do still have it on our list of boy’s names … but I’m not 100% convinced.

We also need to consider our surname and how his first name, combined with his surname, would sound.

The correct pronunciation of our Croatian surname, is “Dah-dich”, but it’s converted to “Da-dic” for easier communications. You need to hear all the things I get called by very *eloquent* call-centre agents and tele-sales people … “Didac”, “Didick”, “Daaa… um … Nicki?” – the list is endless. IT’S NOT THAT HARD PEOPLE!

Anyway, what’s important to me is that his name and surname sound good together. We can’t really have an Anglo-Saxon name, like Steve (haha), Martin (HAHAHA) or any other “English” name preceding “Dadic”. It has to be something that “fits” the surname.

Luca is basically the “John Smith” of Croatia – the most common name, in that part of the world. Luca has been at the top of the baby names lists in Croatia for many, many years. But I love it and it really suits Luca. It encapsulates his softness, his gorgeously curly golden hair and his darker than dark, soulful little eyes.

If we have a little girl, we’re sorted. Yes, we have a girl’s name but we’re both certain we’re having another boy. And if we do have another boy … we have some SERIOUS work to do. We do have a couple of potential names, but we’re not 100% sold on anything just yet.

So … any suggestions?

10 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

    • Nix, I think Stefano would go nicely with Dadic! I always feel that a first name that ends with a vowel goes better with a last name that begins with a consonant (eg Luca!).

  1. Nix, I think Stefano goes nicely with Dadic! I feel that a first name that ends with a vowel goes better with the last name that begins with a consonant (eg Luca!). xx

  2. I don’t have any names to suggest (except mayby for Nicholas, just because I love the name!). For us it was just about having language neutral name that is a little French and cannot be shortened.
    We each have our own requirements 🙂

  3. Well I did a google search of Croatian boy names and there are some real doozies there LOL … but I took all your thoughts into consideration and I thought Damijan (Damon), meaning – champion, victor, tamer was quite nice … Damon Dadic. So there’s my suggestion 🙂 Good Luck!

  4. We concentrated on having an name that goes with the surname, and also a bit of a family connection. And after no1’s too Afrikaans sounding name – we went for names that can work in that and English for 2 and 3.

    One name we loved but did not use was Matteo.

Leave a Reply

