A Preggy Update

20 weeks (5 months) tomorrow!

Where has the time gone?! I remember when Stace was here with baby Ellie in Feb/March and she sent me down to our local pharmacy to buy the pregnancy test. I was CONVINCED it was going to be negative, as I’d done one about a week earlier and it hadย been really disappointed when I only saw the one, lonely line. This wasn’t the case this time – and it was SO cool to have one of my best and oldest friends with me when I discovered that I was pregnant ๐Ÿ™‚

So … where are we now? 5 months. According to Baby Centre, I’m at the half way mark! Well, in reality I’m over half way … with a c-section, I’ll probably have the baby at around 38 weeks (I had Luca at 38 weeks, 5 days) which means I only have 18 to go. Sh!t! I don’t feel stressed at all though … I think that (a) having kept everything after Luca was born means that I am not sitting here wondering what I need to get and (b) being pregnant at the same time as being a busy working mother to a busy little toddler, doesn’t leave me much time to even think about it! I’ve also made the conscious decision to not be the neurotic, all-controlling and possessive mother I was the first time around. I don’t believe that I missed out on anything when Luca was tiny, but I do believe that I denied a lot of people access to him, because I believed (in my hormonal little head) that I was the only person who was capable of giving Luca what he needed and wanted. Silly, stupid me. With a live-in helper AND a willing and amazing husband, I still felt that I was the only one who was able to do anything right. Well, I sure as hell ain’t making THAT mistake again! All friends and family, this is your advanced warning that I will be handing Baby #2 (sorry, we STILL don’t have a name for you baba!) over at all opportunities … prepare yourselves! And this time around I want LOTS of hospital visitors, see?!

Anyway, I digress!

Baby Centre says that #2 is about 6.5 inches (16.5cm) long already – explains why I can feel him kicking so much now!!! I really can’t remember when I first felt Luca kicking, but I’m almost positive it wasn’t as early as 16/17 weeks, which is about the first time I felt #2 kick. I guess one’s body is more aware the second time around?

Also, people who have met me for the first time or who don’t see me often (the lovely lady who did my wax this morning is a perfect example) don’t believe I am 5 months pregnant yet. It’s strange too – earlier in the morning, my tummy is much smaller. Just a little “pouch” quite low down. Later on in the day and into the evening, it almost gets bigger, higher up. Whilst I’m lying down, it’s almost impossible to see – just a little “lump” where #2 is lying ๐Ÿ™‚ I can also feel him wiggling around more when I’m lying flat on my back, which is cool!

Here’s a bird’s-eye view of the bump – an early evening shot from quite an odd angle, as you can hardly see my feet ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve still had no cravings whatsoever, but I’m still never really impressed by any food. I remember being ravenous quite a bit when I was pregnant with Luca. Not at all this time. I can’t STAND Jungle Oats and will only eat them if I absolutely have to. I practically lived on them the first time round. My back aches almost constantly … I think a trip to Magic Mike will be in order soon. I’ll definitely book an appointment for #2 to see him when he is 10 days old too. Luca saw him 2 weeks after he was born for a little **post-caesar back stretch and he loved it. I’ve never seen anything so cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a video clip of him at the chiro somewhere on Facebook … will add a link for it to this post as soon as I can track it down.

[Facebook just notified me that they REMOVED my video because of copyrighted background music in the video! Sheesh! I edited the video in iMovie and added background music – a Jack Johnson tune. Is that illegal???]

I managed to avoid any kind of illness when I was pregnant with Luca too. Not so much this time. I had pretty revolting “morning” sickness this time around, which ended just after the first trimester concluded. I have also just started to feel “normal” after a week-long struggle with bronchitis – hectic chest pains, throbbing sinuses, aching body and a totally throat-destroying cough [read as: bark]. After being dead set against taking any strong meds during pregnancy, I finally gave in and went to my GP for antibiotics – some of which are apparently safe during pregnancy. I’m starting to feel human for the first time in almost over a week, so I am grateful.

In other news – there are NO decent (and reasonably priced) maternity clothes ANYWHERE. I really don’t want to look like a floral toilet-roll cover, Woolies and Edgars. And no, Marion & Lindi, I don’t have R1000 to spend on a pair of pants that I’m only going to wear for another 4 months. I did, however, notice a little store on 4th Avenue in Parkhurst called Rolf & Rocco (click the link for their Facebook page) and popped in for a little look-see. I must say that I was impressed and will probably go back to try things on and possibly even buy something ๐Ÿ™‚

Aaaaand … that’s about it. You all know we’re having another little boy and that we’re struggling with names. Not much else to tell really! We’re still having a boy and we’re still struggling with names.

Night night x

**There are benefits associated with a gentle, chiropractic manipulation of a baby’s spine after being born via caesarian-section, assisting with the opening up of the airways which would normally happen during “normal” birth. Do a bit of Googling (or just get hold of “Magic” Mike Marinus for an appointment/advice via his Twitter account @BackPainsZA or on 011 787 4746) – I did but found too many links to include just one ๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “A Preggy Update

  1. Hi Nicki

    I have been reading your blog for ages and I love it!

    Can’t believe you are managing a toddler, second pregnancy and working at Werksmans all at once. I did my articles at Werksmans and my husband works there and that place is HECTIC!

    I have a 19 month old little girl and I can’t even think how I would cope running around after her and being pregnant!

    Reading your blog and Tanya Kovarsky’s blog is often the highlight of my day or week and you have introduced me to so many amazing blogs and websites.

    I am a total magazine addict (loved your article in Living and Loving) and love reading blogs, just not creative enough or technically minded enough to do it myself. I follow you and Tanya on Twitter but again I really don’t know what to Tweet myself!

    Thanks so much for the blog!

    Good luck with everything (and I really mean that as you have loads on your plate).

    Lisa

    • Hi Lisa

      Thank you so much for your comment! After dealing with a seemingly pointless and VERY frustrating tantrum a moment ago, it’s really made my Sunday morning!!!

      So awesome to know that people enjoy the blogs – I’m sure Tanya will agree with me!!! Tanya will be giving “swag” away on her blog from this week, so you definitely need to keep an eye on her blog!!!

      Werksmans is hectic, but I think that after I had Luca, I made the conscious decision to always make sure my life was properly balanced – that I don’t focus on work too much. I worked in advertising before Luca was born and that totally engulfed my life – not cool!

      Thanks again for the comment and stop by to say hi more often!!!

      Have a great Sunday with your family!!!

      Nicki

  2. Whahahahaha!!! I also tried to avoid looking “like a floral toilet-roll cover” – and just LOVED CherryMelon’s range. I know they have a website and facebook page – Barbara is the Cherry Melon agent in JHB | email: BarbaraG@argonautconsulting.co.za cell: 0836464966 fb: Cherry Melon preggie wear.
    xxx

  3. Oh your blog looks pretty! Amazing – I had the very same insight after my first baba – you know., denying others the chance and setting yourself up with way too much work. With twins, you can not but accept all the help you get, but even if it was just one, I would have so done it differently too.

  4. Oooooh la la. Your blog is looking bee-ooo-tiful! Loving the gorgeous photo you have of you and Luca in the banner at the top. Congrats on your 20-week milestone. I’m also follow Bump’s progress at BabyCenter and get their weekly email.

  5. Try cherrymelon.com. I am impressed with the quality and the prices. I am getting the boyleg jeans this week at R329 which I priced at a maternity shop for R500. (same brand ) The lady sells in JHb from her house in Gallo Manor. I have tried Woolies and Edgars and cannot find a thing that fits my style. Hope this helpsxxxT

Leave a Reply

