Where do all the geeky girls go?

The Girl Geek Dinners were founded on the 16th August 2005 as a result of one girl geek who got annoyed and frustrated about being one of the only females attending technical events. She was tired of constantly having to prove herself and decided that she just wanted a change and to be treated just the same as any other geek out there, gender and age aside.Β  After all to be geeky is to be intelligent, have passion for a subject and to know that subject in depth. It’s not at all about being better than others, gender, race, religion or anything else. Those things just detract from the real fun stuff, the technology, the innovation and the spreading of new ideas.

On Tuesday night, I attended my first Girl Geek Dinner, held at one of Joburg’s best kept secrets, Higher Ground. It was the second Joburg event and, in my opinion, a huge success! The event was sold out and the full room on the night proved that.

Once snacks were served and bubbles poured, the formalities started. First up was Lana Strydom, who heads up Digital Marketing and Media for FNB. Obviously, a lot of the talk was centered around the elusive @RBJacobs, who is an online superhero when it comes to banking! Lana also chatted about the bank’s approach to social media and provided great examples of international banks really getting it right online.

Next up, Tiana Cline from Girl Guides chatted about girls in gaming. My first thought was around war games and I started to lose focus … but then she mentioned Words With Friends, Angry Birds and Just Dance 3, which looks like THE most fun EVER! I know we have an Xbox (I think) at home, so I am TOTALLY going to get it and dance like a loony in my lounge. I mean seriously – how much fun does this look!?

I hung out with old friends and new friends from Twitter and it was awesome! Two glasses of wine, a fab gift bag and one chocolate brownie later, I left with a happy tummy and an inspired mind. Thanks so much to Belinda and co at Stilletto Media for having us and I look forward to attending future GGDJHB events!

For more on the Girl Geek Dinners and details of the next event, check out their Twitter profile, Facebook page, the GGJHB blog or drop them an email.

See you at the next one? πŸ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Where do all the geeky girls go?

  1. Sounds fab!
    Definitely going to check it out as my company often sponsors goods or presents goodies at the event, I’ve known Tiana for years through her dealings with us.
    As a side note, Just Dance 3 is one of my products and I’d be happy to organize????

Leave a Reply

